This site provides information using PDF, visit this link to download the Adobe Acrobat Reader DC software.

Macomb leaders sign inclusion resolution

Macomb leaders sign inclusion resolution

On Thursday, January 9, Macomb leaders made a new commitment to promote inclusion and diversity.

Leaders said they hope a new resolution creates a zero tolerance for bigotry and hatred in Macomb.

They hope to honor Martin Luther King Jr's legacy in new policies to promote equality.

"To ensure inclusiveness, celebrate diversity, and bring communities together to combat hatred and prejudice," says Mayor of Macomb, Michael Inman.

Macomb and Mcdonough County leadership came together Thursday to sign a resolution that declares: demonstrations of hatred and prejudice are not welcome in the community.

Minister Kelly Ingersoll said previous acts of intolerance in Macomb and nationwide inspired this new resolution.

"You are not a forgotten voice; that everyone is valued. Where else do you hear that these days? For communities and community leaders to make a bold statement, I think is rather exciting for our community," Minister and Representative of Macomb Area Ministerial Alliance Kelly Ingersoll said.

Eleven leaders signed the resolution in front of a crowd of roughly 100 passionate community members.

"I think there's a lot work that we need to do in order to make sure that we are effective in actually, not just signing a piece of paper, but actually becoming an inclusive and diverse society," Western Illinois University Interim President Martin Abraham.

Mayor Inman said he wants this to open new dialogue and continue discussions about these important topics.

"For me as the mayor, I couldn't ask for a better group of partners to be working with to make Macomb the best place it can be," said Mayor Inman.

Leaders hope the resolution signed Thursday assures the citizens of Macomb that this community is home to people of all different backgrounds.


The resolution was signed by Mayor Inman, McDonough County Board Chair Michael Cox, WIU Interim President Martin Abraham, McDonough County NAACP President Byron Oden Shabazz, Macomb Area Chamber of Commerce Executive Director Lauren Merritt, MAEDCO Executive Director Kim Pierce, Jan Rockwell of the Interfaith Alliance of Macomb, Kelly Ingersoll of the Macomb Area Ministerial Alliance, Macomb Area Convention and Visitor Bureau Director Jock Hedblade, Macomb School Superintendent Mark Twomey and Regional Superintendent of Education John Meixner.